SEMAPHORE

Newsletter of the Maritime Law

Association of Australia and New Zealand



IMLAM 2023 Competition

Swansea University hosted the 2023 edition of the International Maritime Law Arbitration Moot (IMLAM) Competition during 1-6 July.

It was the first time that the competition had been held in person since 2019 and was contested by 17 university teams from Australia, France, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Iran, the Netherlands, Singapore, Spain and the United Kingdom.

In the final hearing, which was held in Trinity House in London and judged by Justice Andrew Baker of the English High Court, Simon Rainey KC of Quadrant Chambers and Paul Dean of HFW, the University of Queensland was named winner over the University of Sydney.

The University of Hong Kong had the highest ranked combined memoranda, with the University of Sydney having the second highest.

The IMLAM organising committee has announced that the IMLAM 2024 Competition will be hosted again by Swansea University on campus in Wales in the first half of July 2024.





Winner Oral Hearings, sponsored by Minter Ellison (Chris Douglas Championship Trophy donated by Douglas family) – University of Queensland (presented by Justice Andrew Baker)



Runner-Up Oral Hearings, sponsored by LMAA (plate donated by UHK) – University of Sydney (presented by Justice Andrew Baker)



Best Overall Memoranda, sponsored by SCMA – University of Hong Kong (presented by Paul Dean)



Runner-Up Overall Memoranda, sponsored by Youngs List – University of Sydney (presented by David Goodwin)



Best Speaker in Finals, sponsored by ArbDB Chambers – Lauren Gunther, University of Queensland (presented by Michael Cover)



Runner-Up Best Speaker in Finals, sponsored by Allen & Gledhill LLP – William Garske, University of Queensland (presented by Daniella Horton)



Best Speaker in General Rounds, sponsored by Colin Biggers & Paisley – William Garske, University of Queensland (presented by Simon Rainey KC)



Highest Ranked Team in General Rounds, sponsored by Helmsman (DMC Trophy donated by TT Club) – University of Queensland (presented by David Martin-Clark)



Best Speaker from a Newcomer Team, sponsored by International institute of Shipping and Trade Law – Natasha Nicholson, University of Northumbria (presented by Professor Baris Soyer)



Sarah Derrington Encouragement Prize, sponsored by MLAANZ – University of Northumbria (presented by David Goodwin)



AMTAC Spirit of the Moot Award, sponsored by AMTAC – University of Tehran (presented by Peter McQueen)

Peter McQueen Arbitrator, mediator ArbDB Chambers +61 408 788 828 Peter.McQueen@arbdb.com

September 2023

